February 23, 2004

Beginning in March, a new Minnesota law designed to get uninsured drivers off the road will require proof of insurance from both a random sampling as well as “problem drivers” who have previous convictions on their records. Half of the 70,000 mailings will go to drivers classified as high risks due to: at least one vehicle insurance law violation; a driver’s license revocation or suspension due to habitual violation of traffic laws; no proof of insurance in effect at the time of a reportable crash; or an alcohol-related motor vehicle conviction. Drivers will have 30 days to respond with proof of insurance. The Minnesota Department of Vehicle Services estimates that as much as 15 percent of state’s drivers are uninsured.

From This Issue

Insurance Journal West February 23, 2004
February 23, 2004
Insurance Journal West Magazine

Insuring the Wealthy; Marine

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More News
More News Features