New Jersey drivers are going to face heavier penalties for ignoring pedestrians in crosswalks.
State officials on Wednesday announced toughened laws aimed at pedestrian safety. They say New Jersey’s rate of pedestrian deaths as a percentage of total auto-related deaths is between 20 and 25 percent, about twice the national average.
Beginning April 1, motorists must come to a full stop and remain stopped for pedestrians in crosswalks. Before, they only had to yield.
Fines will go from $100 to $200 for violations, and violators will get two points on their license.
Attorney General Paula Dow says pedestrians also will face fines for not obeying traffic directions.
Topics New Jersey
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.