Connecticut Police Use New Law to Target Distracted Driving

October 11, 2013

Connecticut Police are cracking down on motorists who text or use a hand-held cellphone while driving.

Authorities call it “high-visibility enforcement” intended to call attention to a state law that took effect Oct. 1. It allows reporting of distracted driving offenses to insurance companies and increases fines for texting and using hand-held phones while driving.

Officials say the crackdown is scheduled through Oct. 15.

The state legislature first enacted a law in 2005 banning the use of cell phones without a hands-free device. Top lawmakers have said they were dismayed to see motorists still texting and driving or talking on a hand-held cellphone without a hands-free device.

Fines are now $150 for the first offense, $300 for the second offense and $500 for a third or subsequent offense.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.