Delaware Gov. Jack Markell (D) on Thursday signed into law a bill to decriminalize possession of small amounts of marijuana.
The bill signing makes Delaware the 20th state in the nation to decriminalize possession of personal use amounts of marijuana, said the Marijuana Policy Project, a marijuana-policy-reform organization. The bill, HB 39, was introduced by Rep. Helene Keeley. It goes into effect six months after enactment.
This new law will make possession of up to one ounce of marijuana by adults a civil violation punishable by a $100 fine, with no possibility of jail time. Currently, it is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a $575 fine and up to three months in jail.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.