Lloyd’s Makes Appointments to Council and Franchise Board

February 6, 2009

Lloyd’s has announced the following appointments to its Council and Franchise Board:
— Lord Levene was re-elected as Chairman of Lloyd’s;
— Andreas Prindl was elected as a Deputy Chairman, and Ewen Gilmour and Graham White were re-elected as Deputy Chairmen of Lloyd’s;
— Sir Robert Finch has been appointed as a nominated member of Council for a three-year term, commencing 1 January, 2009, following Bill Knight’s retirement from the Council on 31 December, 2008; and
— The new members of Council are Aprilgrange Limited (represented by Martin Hudson) and Michael Deeny, who have been elected for three-year terms, commencing 1 February 2009 as a corporate ‘C’ external member and as an individual member respectively.

Levene commented: “I am delighted to welcome all new Council members and would like to take this opportunity to thank Bill Knight and Peter Morgan for their outstanding contributions during their nine years on Council. The new members announced today will bring important experience and a different perspective, which will be invaluable to shaping the future of Lloyd’s.”

Alongside the appointments to its Council, Lloyd’s also announced changes to its Franchise Board. David Shipley, non-executive Chairman of Managing Agency Partners Limited, has been appointed as a market connected non-executive director of the Franchise Board for a three-year term, commencing 1 January, following his service as a member of council. He replaces Edward Creasy, who retired after six years service on 31 December, 2008. Roy Brown, an independent non-executive director, also retired after six years service on 31 December, 2008.

Levene thanked both men for “their hard work and important contribution since the Board’s inception,” and said he is looking “forward to working with David Shipley and all the other members of the Board.”

Source: Lloyd’s – www.lloyds.com

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.