Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder has signed legislation prohibiting novice drivers from using a cellphone while behind the wheel.
The bill applies to holders of Level 1 licenses, who must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or another driver at least 21 years old. It also covers Level 2 licenses, which allow driving alone with limits on hours and carrying of young passengers.
It exempts drivers with full privileges.
Snyder signed the bill Jan. 8 in Lansing and was joined by the family of Kelsey Raffaele, a 17-year-old from the Upper Peninsula who was killed in a crash while chatting on her cellphone. Her mom pushed for “Kelsey’s Law.”
Snyder says the law is “very personal” to him because he also has a daughter named Kelsey who recently got her driver’s license.
Topics Personal Auto Michigan
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.
WSJ Wins Dismissal of Trump’s $10 Billion Defamation Suit
Georgia, Florida Insurers Facing New Scrutiny, Regulations After Election
Learjet May Have Broken Up Before Fatal Florida Crash, NTSB Says
Delta Air Lines Must Face Lawsuit Over ‘Window Seats’ With No Windows 

