Governor to Sign Tougher North Dakota DUI Laws

April 30, 2013

Gov. Jack Dalrymple says he will sign legislation aimed at strengthening penalties for drunken driving in North Dakota.

The Legislature endorsed the bill that increases fines and other penalties. The new law will require jail time or community service work for first-time DUI offenders who have a blood alcohol content of 0.16 percent. That’s twice the state’s legal limit of 0.08 percent.

The bill also would require mandatory participation in the so-called 24/7 sobriety program for repeat offenders.

A second DUI arrest also would require a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.

Latest Comments

  • May 1, 2013 at 3:56 pm
    HUH! says:
    That's a nice start, but I'd like to see tougher measures in place. The damage inflicted by drunk drivers warrants a much more severe loss of privilege than community service... read more

Add a CommentSee All Comments (1)Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

More News
More News Features