Texas Insurer Group Awards Fall Scholarships to 20 Students

November 18, 2013

Twenty students at four Texas universities were recently awarded a total of $38,000 in academic scholarships from the Insurance Council of Texas (ICT) Education Foundation.

The students attend St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Baylor University in Waco, the University of North Texas in Denton and the University of Texas at Austin.

Each student received a scholarship as well as an invitation to attend ICT’s annual Mid-Year Symposium in Austin where insurance industry leaders gather to hear an update on the Texas marketplace. Each year, 100 percent of the Mid-Year Symposium sponsorships, company and individual donations go toward the ICT scholarships and school funding.

Tony Gonzalez, president of the ICT Education Foundation, said he is impressed with every ICT scholarship recipient. “I am always amazed at what these students have been able to accomplish their short time in school and how fortunate the industry is that these students want to work in the insurance marketplace,” said Gonzalez. “It is an honor to be able to award these students for the great work they have done and watch their careers take off.”

ICT scholarship recipients at St. Mary’s University under Dr. David Sommer were Rogelio Hernandez, Eraquio Ramos, Ruth Torres, Brian Garcia, Brian Drew and Antonio Lafuente.

ICT scholarship recipients at the University of North Texas under Dr. Enya He and professor Debra Richardson were Brittney Harvest, Kimberly Anderson, Brooke Webb and Trent Perry.

ICT scholarship recipients at Baylor University under Dr. Jim Garven were Angel Lu, David Giraldi, Ben Nebergall, Elisabeth Kappelmann and Ryan Campbell.

ICT scholarships at the University of Texas at Austin under Dr. Pat Brockett were Neda Samani, Arlind Aliaj, Juan Rodriguez, Elena Walker and Christine Thorne-Thomsen.

The Insurance Council of Texas Education Foundation has awarded more than $600,000 to 305 insurance and risk management students at 10 Texas universities since 2002.

Source: The Insurance Council of Texas

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More News
More News Features