Louisiana Governor Seeks Disaster Declaration for 9 More Parishes

March 28, 2016

Gov. John Bel Edwards has asked President Barack Obama to amend the federal disaster declaration for the state to include nine additional parishes: Catahoula, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Rapides, Red River, Sabine, and St. Helena.

In a news release, Edwards said all of those parishes experienced high water after recent severe weather and debris has amassed on streets, highways and waterways causing a threat to the health and safety of citizens. Additionally, he says the flood waters have yet to fully recede and residents are still evacuating while local governments are still conducting sheltering operations.

Previously approved parishes are: Allen, Ascension, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Claiborne, DeSoto, Grant, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Richland, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More News
More News Features