Colo. House Passes Motorcycle Helmet Bill for Minors

By | March 5, 2007

The Colorado House has passed a bill that would require children under age 18 to wear a helmet when riding a motorcycle. Passing on a 39-26 vote, House Bill 1117 would create penalities of $100 if the operator is under 18 and fails to wear a helmet, and $15 if the under age person not wearing a helmet is a passenger. An additional $10 surcharge for each violation would go to the Colorado traumatic brain injury trust fund.

Meanwhile, the Senate passed Senate Bill 151, making it an offense for a driver, a front-seat passenger and any small children not to wear a seat belt.

Both measures must pass the other chambers before they could become laws.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.