Tougher Fire Restrictions Planned In 7 New Mexico Counties

June 6, 2013

The Bureau of Land Management plans to impose tougher fire restrictions across seven counties in central New Mexico starting Monday.

The restrictions will affect BLM lands in Bernalillo, Catron, Cibola, McKinley, Sandoval, Socorro and Valencia counties.

Officials say ongoing drought and increased fire danger have prompted the restrictions. The goal is to decrease the likelihood of human-caused wildfires.

Under the Stage II restrictions, campfires as well as charcoal, coal and wood stoves are prohibited. Smoking is limited to certain locations and fireworks are not allowed.

The rules also prohibit the shooting of firearms, air rifles or gas guns.

Violating the restrictions could lead to a $1,000 fine or imprisonment for up to a year.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.