City officials in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, are calling for ride-hailing services like Uber to prove they’re commercially insured.
The Portsmouth Herald reports that Assistant Mayor Jim Splaine released an amended ordinance this week that would mandate ride-hailing services to have a total of $300,000 personal injury coverage for each accident and have at least $50,000 in property damage insurance.
The ordinance also would require all transportation service providers to certify that they gave each of their drivers a background check. It also eliminates a requirement that all ride-sharing services individually register their drivers.
Ordinance violations could result in fines ranging from $500 to $1,000.
Splaine says he will ask the City Council to hold a public hearing at its July 13 meeting.
- Rideshare Insurance Bill Sent to Louisiana Governor
- Allstate to Offer Ridesharing Endorsement in Four States
- RIMS Report: Uber Touts Ridesharing Insurance Solution
- First Major California Insurer to Offer Ridesharing Endorsement
- Month-Long Austin Rideshare Challenge Shows Drivers Lack Insurance Savvy
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.