Texas Governor Seeks Federal Disaster Declaration After Severe Weather, Flooding

November 1, 2018

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has asked President Donald Trump for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for Texas counties heavily impacted by recent severe weather and flooding that caused widespread damage across the state. Additional Texas counties may be added to the declaration as local, state, and federal agencies continue to assess damages.

If granted, the declaration would allow those affected to apply for Individual Assistance (IA), Other Needs Assistance (ONA), Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, Disaster Legal Assistance, and Disaster Case Management in Burnet, Ellis, Haskell, Liberty, Llano, Sutton, Tarrant and Travis counties.

Public Assistance Categories A through G including Direct Federal Assistance have been requested for Baylor, Brown, Burnet, Callahan, Coleman, Fannin, Gillespie, Haskell, Hill, Hopkins, Houston, Jones, Kerr, Kimble, Knox, Leon, Llano, Madison, Mason, Nolan, San Patricio, San Saba, Sutton, Throckmorton and Travis counties.

In addition to the Presidential Disaster Declaration request, Abbott also expanded his state disaster declaration to cover a total of 111 Texas counties. He has authorized the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions to aid in the response efforts.

Counties included in the updated state disaster declaration are: Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Brazos, Brooks, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Callahan, Cameron, Chambers, Coleman, Colorado, Comal, Comanche, DeWitt, Dimmit, Duval, Eastland, Edwards, Ellis, Erath, Fannin, Fayette, Fort Bend, Frio, Galveston, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hamilton, Harris, Haskell, Hays, Hidalgo, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Houston, Jackson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Jones, Karnes, Kenedy, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, Kleberg, Knox, Lampasas, La Salle, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Llano, Madison, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McMullen, Medina, Mills, Montgomery, Nolan, Nueces, Palo Pinto, Parker, Polk, Real, Refugio, San Jacinto, San Patricio, San Saba, Shackelford, Somervell, Starr, Stephens, Sutton, Tarrant, Taylor, Throckmorton, Travis, Trinity, Uvalde, Val Verde, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Webb, Wharton, Willacy, Williamson, Wilson, Zapata and Zavala.

Source: Texas Governor’s Office

Topics Texas Flood

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.